Back to School; Back to School; To Prove to Daddy I’m not a Fool


IMG_7508.JPG

First day of school for my 1st grader and kindergartener. I typically wake up a little early to take my daily medication before I actually have to get up. My medication requires me to not eat or drink for one hour after consumption. I plan it out strategically so when my alarm actually does go off I can have my coffee. Now remember how I said it was the first day of school? Yea, it’s also the one day I took the wrong medication at 5 am and can’t have my coffee until after I walk the kids to school. Yea for alarm clocks, feverishly packing school lunches because you forgot to the night before and fighting with your child over which uniform ensemble to wear. Summer vacation is over!

I’m sure a few of our readers can sing with me-

“I’ve got my shoes tied tight, my lunch bag packed; I hope I don’t get in a fight”.

Can anyone take a guess as to why I am walking around my house singing this song at the top of my lungs annoying my children today? Well you don’t have to guess, I’m so excited I just can’t wait for you-school is back in session! Bug started yesterday and Diva started today. I might even pop open a bottle of wine to celebrate. Hell, I definitely will pop open a bottle of wine to celebrate. However, I have a feeling a few of our other readers are gasping and clinging tightly to their children reading in horror as I want to celebrate the joyous occasion of only having one child left in the nest.

Let me explain; I feel like society expects us as devoted mothers to shutter and lock our children away in their rooms to never grow up and stay our babies forever. For those mommies, I found this published at Lessons from the Middle

IMG_7484.JPG

It’s sweet, it’s sentimental and it’s heart warming. Can I also add it’s a year jerker?

However, I’m not blowing my nose and wiping away tears that easily. The last page is filled out in the baby books (wait, did I have baby books?) and the door is closed on another chapter in our household.

I could sit her and sob over my two eldest in school and wish the baby wouldn’t grow up, but isn’t that what parents are suppose to do? We want to raise our children up and boost their self esteems to be confident people to go out and explore the world. If we let them see us cry and be sorrowful, our children will only feel like we were holding them from something bigger and better and regret us later on. What well adjusted child leaves their mother crying over leaving the nest? None. However, what well adjust parent cries tears of sorrow over their children leaving? The answer should be none.

We should be celebrating and rejoicing over their accomplishments and our own accomplishment for keeping them alive long enough to get that far. No one hands us a parenting book upon leaving the hospital. Nevertheless, at least we can provide our children with the support and lessons to conquer the world, or at least first grade, one clean Kleenex at a time.

So raise those glasses and let’s toast to another year of keeping our sanity, keeping our kids alive and keeping a promise to ourselves we will be happy for our children knowing they will one day grow their own set if wings.

Leave a Reply

