Garage Sale Lampshade


So we were lucky enough to visit my parents’ recently, and it was great to see their new home. We are in the process of moving right now, which is always a challenge (but secretly I kind of like it! Shhh). At my parents’ I saw a lamp that had been in my room as a child. I had a very blessed childhood and seeing it brought back lots of great memories. My room growing up was pink, with white lace curtains and the lamp was a perfect fit.

20130409-064243.jpg
Now with its white, lightweight plastic lampshade it was looking a bit dated. But I thought, wouldn’t it be fun if I could somehow incorporate it in our new home’s decor? Then I remembered I had a lampshade that I had scored at a garage sale a while ago. I put it on and really liked the way the dark brown shade with a gold underside looked with the crystal base.

20130409-122853.jpg
Now here it is with a small table and some framed art in my entryway. I love it! It’s a great way to update a piece with some history for a few bucks, and it makes me smile.

20130409-123645.jpg

Leave a Reply

